Rating Your Social Media Etiquette

ID-10060370

So encourage each other and build each other up, just as you are already doing.

~ 1 Thessalonians 5:11, NLT ~

We encourage one another when we cross-promote one another’s work.  When another colleague has good insights or information, we all benefit by sharing that information with our circles of influence. So, how are you doing with that?  Take this brief quiz to assess your “Social Media Etiquette”:

1.  I read materials written or shared by my ministry colleagues

A.  Daily

B.  Weekly

C.  When I get an opportunity

D.  Rarely

2.  I share my colleagues’ blog posts, articles, events or announcements on Facebook

A.  Daily

B.  Weekly

C.  When I get an opportunity

D.  Rarely

3.  On Twitter, I RT (retweet) my ministry colleagues’ blog, article or announcement tweets

A.  Daily

B.  Weekly

C.  When I get an opportunity

D.  Rarely

4.  On Pinterest, I pin, repin or like my ministry colleagues’ blog, article or announcement pins

A.  Daily

B.  Weekly

C.  When I get an opportunity

D.  Rarely

5.  On Google+, I add other colleagues to my circles, especially those who have added me

A.  Always

B.  Sometimes

C.  Only if I like the other person/organization

D.  Never

6.  On Twitter, I make sure to extend the courtesy of thanking people for RT’s and tweeting #FF (Follow Friday), especially for those who have done the same for me

A.  Always

B.  Sometimes

C.  Only if I like the other person/organization

D.  Never

7.  I take personal interest in my ministry colleagues and their family life, personal and ministry challenges, and joyful successes

A.  Always

B.  Sometimes

C.  Only if I like the other person/organization

D.  Never

8.  I collaborate with other ministry colleagues

A.  Daily

B.  Annually

C.  On rare occasion

D.  Never

9.  I learn from ministry colleagues

A.  Daily

B.  Weekly

C.  When I get an opportunity

D.  Rarely

10.  I pray for ministry colleagues

A.  Daily

B.  Weekly

C.  When I remember

D.  Rarely

Give each letter A a value of 4; B a value of 3; C a value of 2; D a value of 1.  Your results:  35-40 ALL STAR.  We could all learn a great deal from you and your generous building-up of others! 30-35 OUTSTANDING.  You are dedicated to encouraging and supporting your colleagues.  Good job!  25-30 NEEDS HELP.  You are busy to the exclusion of others.  While you may be well-intended, you need help stepping up your game with supporting and encouraging ministry colleagues.  10-25 GET GOING!  Maybe you were unaware of the need to engage in this sort of cross-supporting etiquette prior to this article.  Whatever the reason, you had better get going stepping up your game because our faith demands it and because this is considered “best practices” for your area of service.

Another simplified way to examine how you stack up to your peers in any given category is to join Klout to assess your score.  Klout analyzes all of your networks including Facebook, Twitter, Four Square, YouTube, WordPress, Google+, Bing and more.  The score also breaks down what percentage of your total influence is affected by each network.  The average Klout score is 40, and tremendously famous individuals or organizations score 90 or higher.  One thing to note, this score seems to be more highly influenced by how faithfully you check in and vote for others by comparison to more neutral analyses.

What are your thoughts on sharing, cross-promoting, collaborating and encouraging?  We would love to hear!

Image courtesy of: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

